All in a Day’s Work

The larger the dog, the more important it is for him/her to have a task. The type of job often depends on the dog’s natural inclinations. For example, border collies are innate sheep herders. Once I even saw some sheep on a dike in Germany, and I took off pretending to be a border collie. Something inside of me just wanted to get those creatures rounded up and moving.

Since there aren’t many sheep in a city, I haven’t had any training for that particular job. My training and talents lie in the area being a Therapy Dog. I have discovered that I have a natural ability to comfort, encourage and listen. A few years ago I even attended an intensive training course for therapy dogs. I learned how behave around wheelchairs and crutches as well as how to relate not only to the elderly, but also to children and handicapped people. 

This training has helped me perform my visitation job in Hanover even better than before. During the last five years, a group of my friends (Visitors with 4 Paws) and Ihave visited various nursing homes in the Hanover area. Our human companions are in charge of our transportation so that we can visit, offer comfort and bring happiness to the elderly. As a group we visit around 20 nursing homes each month. I look forward to continuing this job in the USA.

 

I have also had another “full-time” job in my office. I am the dog sledding consultant for America Ski & Sun Holidays. In fact, my picture is even in our catalog. Since we primarily sell ski vacations, there are not too many calls for dog sledding tours. Consequently, I usually take it upon myself to entertain the staff. We don’t usually take coffee breaks; we take play-with-the-ball breaks thereby providing a relaxing working environment for the employees.

Jessie’s work video, which I highly recommend, very impressively demonstrates many of the different jobs which we dogs can perform and also shows how much fun we have doing them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9Fyey4D5hg

 

Traveling in: Hannover, Germany

Countdown to Take-Off: 46 Days

Categories: Germany, Jobs & Work | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “All in a Day’s Work

  1. Hi angel hope you are having many balls to chase. Say hi to joy and Micheal.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.