The Idaho Couch Potato

31.01 Tow

Two weeks ago just south of Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, one of our trailer wheels decided to go its own way. In the rearview mirror, the family saw the wheel rolling down the highway. Obviously we had to stop, collect the wayward wheel, and wait for a tow truck large enough to pick up the trailer and carry it to the next repair location. (Additional misadventures will be the subject of an additional blog.)

31.02 Museum1

31.03 Museum2

While waiting on repairs, we have spent a couple of unscheduled weeks in Idaho Falls, Idaho. What do you know about Idaho? The first thing I think of is potatoes. Did you know that about 30% of all USA potatoes are grown in the southern part of this state? It is hard for me to image what that statistic really means. In this county alone, “over 20 million 100-pound sacks of potatoes are harvested every year” making this location the Potato Capital of the World.

In an effort to understand the potato better, I visited the Idaho Potato Museum.  Surprisingly, the potato has a colorful and interesting history.

The potato harvester called “Spudnik”

The potato harvester called “Spudnik”

31.5 Spudnik

31.06 Pringle

Some interesting trivia:

  • Potatoes originated in Peru in the 1500s and were transported around the world.
  • Potatoes have almost all of the nutrients needed for a healthy body.
  • (An interesting tidbit for my German friends) Frederick II of Prussia commanded the peasants to plant and to eat potatoes. He threatened to cut off their ears if they didn’t.
  • The average American eats 140 pounds of potatoes per year. Germans eat more than 200 pounds per year.
  • The largest Pringle is in this museum.
  • “French Fries” were introduced to America when Thomas Jefferson served them at a Whitehouse dinner.

Speaking of French Fries, after visiting the museum, I experienced my first drive-in restaurant.

Hummm...What should I order?

Hummm…What should I order?

Lunch is here!

Lunch is here!

Going .... going .... gone !!

Going …. going …. gone !!

More, please!

More, please!

Traveling in: Idaho Falls, Idaho

On the road for: 263 days

Categories: Travel, USA, USA West | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Idaho Couch Potato

  1. JJ

    My, My, Angel. The things we have to put up with our parents. I was thinking about you and me, (being a cat) all the stuff we have to do to please them. All they have to so is love one and we have to love two. You are so good. You make them think potatoes are great, but what you want is Meat, with me it is fish.
    JJ

  2. Pingback: Dyslexic Snowbirds | Travels with Angel

I look forward to hearing from you.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.