Tourist at Home

Since we will soon be leaving Germany, we have been asking ourselves (and our friends) what we need to see and do before leaving. Consequently, we have recently been experiencing Hannover from a touristy point of view. Obviously I have always loved the paths, forests, and the lake in the middle of town. I also occasionally go to the International Fireworks Competitions which are held in the spring and fall. I LOVE watching the colorful lights exploding across the sky. (It is almost as interesting as chasing the red light of a laser pointer.)

Recently a friend suggested that we go to the horse races, which I had never done before. I used to think that horses were just big dogs who might want to play with me. But now I know better. My family and I enjoyed an interesting afternoon watching the races, which is very popular here in Hannover.

Last Saturday we had a wonderful time with a group of friends. First we met the Hollandische Kakao-Stube. (Holland Cocoa Café) Then we went the Masch Lake in the middle of town by bicycle taxi. I was a little uncertain about this at first, but then it turned out to be a lot of fun. I am always excited to spend time at the lake and to swim there at any time of the year. The ducks and swans are very interesting and sometimes worth swimming after. This time, however, we actually took a boat across the lake instead of walking around it. Then there was a city tour through the center of town. By the time we arrived at our final café, I was exhausted and had to take a nap.

It has been a very interesting experience being a tourist at home. Everyone should take thetime to explore and experience their town and area. You don’t even need to wait until you are on vacation.

Traveling in: Hanover, Germany

Countdown to Take-Off: 20 days.

Categories: Friends & Family, Germany, Travel | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tourist at Home

  1. Elizabeth, BS

    Loved the last picture!

  2. sesta

    Must have been a really great day in Hanover. I’ve been living here for years and I still like to explore the town. I hope you enjoy your new life in the states. 🙂

I look forward to hearing from you.

Blog at WordPress.com.